Ramya Jirasinghe wins 2024 Gratiaen Prize with debut novel

Ramya Jirasinghe has won this year’s Gratiaen Prize for Sri Lankan writers with her debut novel, and we are celebrating! The Gratiaen Prize was established by Michael Ondaatje with money awarded for his Booker-Prize-winning novel The English Patient. Previous winners of the Gratien Prize include another Booker Prize winner, Shehan Karunatilaka.

The prize was presented to Ramya by the Chair of the judging panel, Anthony Joseph, a poet, novelist, musician and winner of the prestigious 2022 T S Eliot Poetry Prize.